City of San Antonio



Minutes

Public Safety Committee

Monday, March 21, 2022

9:30 AM

Municipal Plaza Building

Members Present: Melissa Cabello Havrda, Chair

Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Member

Phyllis Viagran, *Member* Ana Sandoval, *Member* Clayton Perry, *Member*

Members Absent: None

Approval of Minutes

1. Approval of minutes from the February 15, 2022 Public Safety Committee Meeting

Councilmember Viagran moved to Approve the minutes of the February 15, 2022 Public Safety Committee meeting. Councilmember Perry seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Cabello Havrda, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Perry

Absent: Sandoval

Public Comment

Denise McVea testified about the need to implement an alternate response community advisory board. McVea noted that the community deserved an active role in the evaluation and direction of the initiative.

Justin Martinez discussed Bexar County's program metrics and evaluation and the creation of a community advisory board. Martinez distributed packets that detailed information in those areas and noted that this was a great opportunity for the City to involve community members and community advocates in this stage of the process and in every other key decision-making process in the program.

PSCC Page 1 of 3

2022.03.21

Briefing and Possible Action on

2. Briefing and possible on the submission of a grant application in an amount up to \$2,176,605 for an Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA)grant for the period of January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023. This grant includes funding of seventeen (17) positions which are currently funded through past HIDTA grant awards. [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Police Chief]

Councilmember Viagran moved to Approve on the Consent Agenda. Councilmember Perry seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Cabello Havrda, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Perry

Absent: Sandoval

3. Briefing and possible action on the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD) procurement of a new Armored Caterpillar MultiTerrain Loader (the ROOK) with trailer and attachments for an estimated cost of \$389,600 funded with the 2021 Urban Area Security Initiative Grant. This unarmed vehicle will be used by the Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) Team to respond to critical emergency situations. [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Police Chief]

Chief William McManus provided an overview of the Item which covered "The Rook" which was a Tactical Response and Rescue Vehicle. He noted that the vehicle was used in emergency situations in SWAT incidents in San Antonio and the Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG) area. He reviewed the different scenarios the vehicle would be utilized for, vehicle capabilities, funding sources and a timeline for City Council approval.

Chair Cabello Havrda asked if the vehicle could be used in other than emergency situations. Chief McManus stated that the vehicle could be used in rescue scenarios.

Councilmember McKee-Rodriguez expressed his concern that the City had not fully vetted the use of military grade vehicles in different scenarios especially in areas with individuals of color.

McKee-Rodriguez asked if there was a procedural manual for when the vehicle would be utilized.

McManus stated that there was not currently a manual but one would be developed.

Councilmember Viagran asked clarification on the different scenarios the equipment could be used in. McManus reviewed the various scenarios. Viagran stated that she would be supporting the Item.

Councilmember Viagran moved to approve. Councilmember Perry seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Cabello Havrda, Viagran, Perry

No: McKee-Rodriguez

PSCC Page 2 of 3

2022.03.21

Absent: Sandoval
Executive Session
No Executive Session was held.
Consideration of items for future meetings
Next meeting tentatively scheduled for April 19, 2022.
Adjournment
There being no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 11:29 AM.
Approved
Melissa Cabello Havrda, Chair
Respectfully Submitted
Debbie Racca-Sittre, Interim City Clerk